Based in La Chaux-de-Fonds, Girard-Perregaux has roots dating back to 1791, when watchmaker Jean-Francois Bautte created his first timepieces in Geneva. However, via a circuitous route, the Girard-Perregaux brand name was officially established in 1856 in La Chaux-de-Fonds. It is most known for its famed Tourbillon with Three Gold Bridges, whose design was patented in 1884. This model continues to be an icon for the brand. As of 2022, Girard-Perregaux and sister Maison Ulysse Nardin formed an independent collective of high horology Manufactures.
Girard-Perregaux is today one of the oldest fine watchmaking Manufactures still in operation in Switzerland. The story began in 1854 with a beautiful partnership, the marriage of Constant Girard and Marie Perregaux. Shortly after that, in 1856, they opened an Atelier at the forefront of horological innovation that would set audacious new standards for watchmakers worldwide in a tradition that continues today.
In 1906, Girard-Perregaux bought the Maison of Jean-François Bautte based in Geneva, Switzerland. Girard-Perregaux traces its roots back to 1791 with Bautte’s first designs: ultra-thin jewelry cases. His designs captured the attention of royals and aristocrats worldwide, from the Queen of England to Chinese emperors. After the merger, this prestigious client list turned to Girard Perregaux for the watches they dreamed of owning. Girard-Perregaux surpassed Bautte’s enamel, pearls, and gemstones to make the technical elements of the timepieces works of art. The partnership set in motion two centuries of Haute Horological excellence. A tradition that continues to this day from the Girard-Perregaux Manufacture in La Chaux-de-Fonds.
Since day one, Girard-Perregaux has often turned the watchmaking world on its head to reveal precision engineering art. Their tourbillon with three gold bridges transformed the bridges of the 1860s into a visible element of the timepiece which had never been seen before. The Constant Escapement L.M., which was presented as a prototype in 2008 and produced in 2013, was yet another technical achievement. It solved a problem that the watch industry had been trying to find a solution for centuries: that of constant force. The watch won the “Aiguille d’Or” award at the Grand Prix d’Horlogerie de Genève in 2013.
As of 2022, Girard-Perregaux and sister Maison Ulysse Nardin formed an independent collective of high horology Manufactures. Girard-Perregaux is headquartered in La Chaux-de-Fonds, Switzerland, which has a UNESCO World Heritage standing for its excellence in watchmaking.
Girard-Perregaux is one of Switzerland’s rare watchmakers to retain Manufacture status for over two centuries by mastering all the needed horological skills in-house.
The Laureato Collection was first launched in 1975. A sporty collection for men and women with sleek lines, an integrated bracelet, and a raised octagonal bezel. In 2019 the Absolute Laureato sub-collection was launched with a bolder, more contemporary design.
The Bridges collection transforms the bridges of the 1860s into a visible element of the timepiece. From the Classic Bridges to the Quasar Light and the Neo Bridges, the Bridges timepieces are some of the most iconic in Girard-Perregaux’s collections.
The 1966 collection is a timeless classic line for men and women with pure, ultra-thin round mechanical watches. Extraordinarily versatile and contemporary, these timepieces take their inspiration from the 1960s.
Before vintage became a trend, Girard-Perregaux introduced the Vintage 1945 collection, inspired by Art Deco. An elegant collection for men, with its rectangular case that curves to the shape of the wrist and numerals in a polished retro font.
The Cat’s Eye collection for women is instantly recognizable with its oval-shaped case. Introduced in 2004, these beautiful timepieces prove that mechanical movements and a sensual look can perfectly match.